jump to navigation

My how people change September 28, 2009

Posted by Patrick in Life.
trackback

So this past weekend I spent the weekend visiting J for her birthday. The whole weekend was great, and could easily warrant it’s own post, however I have something else to share for now. On sunday another friend came along for the festivities and brought along her newborn son Jake.  This isn’t an entirely new experience, I have other friends with kids. I’ve spent a decent amount of time with babies before.  Usually when I think about it, I think back to my little brother. Now in my situation, my brother was born when I was 13. So I have vivid memories of him as a baby, as well as growing up. I fed him, changed his diapers, babysat him and more.  My views towards raising a kid were pretty solid, I knew how much responsibility it was.

And that was my view without question, up until this weekend. Now, I’m not on the “I’m ready to have a kid now” bus. However, I just don’t see things the same way. Nothing changed when I saw him, he was another cute baby. And it was still even the same when I held him, he was just a little guy hanging out in my arms. And then he got upset, and cried, so I fed him. And there I was, 13 years later. It was the exact some action of holding a baby and a bottle, yet now it felt so much different.

So my life is still the same, yet slightly different. I just thought that moment deserved to remembered.

Comments»

1. amindinmotown - September 29, 2009

You with a kid. Hm. That makes me a little nervous inside.

Only half-kidding. I know you’d make a great dad … some day. I cannot imagine you (or myself for that matter) being a parent just yet.


Leave a Reply

