jump to navigation

First day of classes August 24, 2009

Posted by Patrick in Uncategorized.
trackback

So I was walking around campus, trying to decide what to do between my spare time between classes. It’s to early for me to have work to do, so I found myself wandering. Then it hit me, it’s a good time to blog!

I can’t help but notice my age difference between the average students here. I’m in this were area where I’m older than traditional students, yet still much younger than the ‘returning professionals’ who I see walking around. It really impedes on the social aspect of college, but we all know I’m not here for social reasons.

I started out with my Personal Fitness class at 8am, we didn’t really do much the first day, but my professor talked to us like we were in fat camp. Well, I can’t imagine what they actually say in fat camp, but that’s how it felt. A little motivation doesn’t hurt though. I’m looking forward to buying my own food again. I know I’ll eat much more healthy food.  Anyone have suggestions on what I should pick up when I’m at the store later? I plan on buying a lot of yogurt! Then I guess lunch meat and bread? What’s a healthy filling lunch? I’m prone to just making sandwiches, but I’m open to ideas.

My next class was Social Problems. This class should be, interesting, to say the least. The professor is nice, very liberal though. (Not that there’s anything wrong with that, lol) In four years he’s never failed anyone. And you can do volunteer work to count as 50% of your grade. Maybe I can find a local church that could use a hand?

Back to the age thing, I have trouble being a male in this situation. Example being, I just looked up from my laptop and saw this very attractive girl directly across from me, maybe 20 feet away. Ok, on second look, I’ll just say that she has really nice legs, lol. Anyways, considering the average age here is probably 18.5-19, I feel to old to even check out these girls. Granted I’m in no way looking for anyone to date around here, those who know me know I already have someone I’m very interested in. 😉 Oh well, I guess I just need to focus on classwork, and not worry about random eye candy.

I feel like this post is going to crap, in one post I almost turned into one of those bloggers that just observe/complain about everything. That’s ok, everyone gets to vent once in awhile right?

So my last complaint. Smokers. Why does it seem like a solid 30% of the student body smokes? I thought kids learned its not ‘cool’ anymore? No matter where I seem to be walking, I get stuck behind someone who’s smoking. It doesn’t bother me that much, sure my Dad, Mom,  older brother and sister all smoke, but I was hoping that here I could get away from that. I hated being a kid and always having my clothes smell like smoke from being around it all the time. =/

Well I finished my last class, Technical Writing. It sounds like I’m going to enjoy that class.

Anyways, that’s all for now. Healthy foods/meal suggestions please, but they need to be simple. I’m not much of a cook, lol.

Comments»

1. Katie - August 24, 2009

I’m glad you made it through the first day. That’s one thing holding me back from going to college is knowing that the age difference is so massive that I’d feel uncomfortable. But kudos to you.

I’d be totally interested in the technical writing course. That’s something that I would love to brush up on.

2. MJ - August 25, 2009

I would love to be able to go back to school right now. Sigh.

3. amindinmotown - August 26, 2009

I can’t help you with healthy whatsoever. Ha. But dude, you seriously need to tell me about this girl ’cause I do know you but have no idea about who has your heart. Argh!!!


Leave a Reply

