jump to navigation

Health care here, get your health care here! August 19, 2009

Posted by Patrick in Life, Science, Work.
Tags:
trackback

So I couldn’t help but voice my opinion on this health care debate.  I try to avoid talking politics, since conservative points of view aren’t very well accepted here on the interwebs.  This topic is fairly safe though, since I consider myself  middle-of-the-road on this.

So first off, I’m sick of the right talking about death panels and all that crap.  Clearly nobody really wants those, and they’ll never exist.  So I won’t even worry about that angle.  Now most people who are against a ‘public plan’ are those who already have decent insurance, and are afraid they’ll lose what they have.  Believe it for not, that’s a very real possibility. There’s a large percentage of people who work for small businesses. (I’m a blogger, not a reporter so you can check those numbers yourself, lol) And perhaps you’ve never worked for a small business, but they tend to spend a lot of money on health care. And if my old boss had the option to switch us over to a cheaper public plan, then he would have done it immediately. Then instantly, you no longer have the same health insurance you enjoyed.

Everyone needs health care!? Right? Wrong. Sorry, but I just don’t think so. Since I graduated high school (in 2002) I had health care for a total of 6 months. If I was paying for health insurance for the last 7 years, there’s no way I could afford rent and tuition. It just wouldn’t have happened.

Simple numbers. I don’t know about you, but when my dad needs a checkup, or a non-emergency visit, he usually has 1-2 week wait until they can schedule him in. Then, you get there for your 3pm appointment, but don’t really see a doctor until 3:30ish. Now just imagine, 46 million more people suddenly have health care. Can you just think about the surge of people who will want to go in for checkups? And how many million more doctors are we adding? What’s that? Zero? That’s not the government’s problem. How can you get the same service from your doctors when they instantly gain (on average) %15 more clients? Impossible.

Ideas. There’s nothing I hate more than those who complain without making suggestions. First off, and this doesn’t deal with insurance directly, but Ban advertisements for prescription medication. There’s no reason to advertise prescriptions to the general public. Let their Dr decide what meds they need, don’t wait for the patient to walk in saying “Oh I think you need to prescribe X for me, since I saw this commercial and I have Y, and Z symptoms. How much are drug companies spending on these advertisements? How much of those costs are increasing the price on our prescriptions? But why will they never be banned? Because pharmaceutical companies donate heavily to politicians, and so they get away with whatever they’d like.

Next, pass laws to help protect doctors. Health care prices are greatly inflated due to so many hospitals/doctors are afraid of getting sued. Put a cap on what a family can sure for, also make it more transparent if there’s a doctor who’s made mistakes. I can look up nearly any business on the BBB to see it’s record. If I buy a car, I get a CarFax, but do I have any idea about my Dr’s track record? No.  Also, when it comes to transparency, how about being more honest about prices? I would bet that 99% of people have no idea what they’ll be charged for their visit/care until the bill comes in the mail. If you get your car repaired, you make some calls and find a reasonable price. If you need to be repaired, good luck on finding the best price. You can’t even “shop around” if you wanted to. So when people can’t “shop around” there is no competition amongst locations. And without competition, there’s no reason to keep prices low. Just let them skyrocket! And that’s exactly what’s happened.

So these are just a few small changes, and that’s the way to go about this problem. Not with some crazy public option, it will be chaos, expensive, and I feel it will eventually lead to inferior care.

Comments»

1. Courtney - August 19, 2009

You’re right. There just won’t be enough doctors to satisfy the needs of everyone in the U.S. all the sudden being able to see one. There’s alot of good ideas being thrown around to lower insurance rates/medical costs , like torte reform, health savings accounts, a national insurance market versus only statewide… they are just getting little support by dems who see the only option as being a “govt option”. No thanks.

2. whattakes - August 19, 2009

I didn’t read it. All I have to say is CANADA ROCKS!!! At least where I do does! We have enough doctors that I only wait 3 days to see mine and its all free!!!!!!

3. MJ - August 23, 2009

Everyone does need health insurance. There was a time when I didn’t have it too, and luckily I wasn’t injured or sick then. Without health insurance who could afford a trip to er? No one. People without insurance just don’t pay their bills and that costs us more than a national insurance plan will, I’m sure.


Leave a Reply

