jump to navigation

Can’t touch this…? May 25, 2009

Posted by Patrick in Life, Tech.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback
SAN FRANCISCO - SEPTEMBER 09:  Apple CEO Steve...
Image by Getty Images via Daylife

So as some of you may know already, I’ve been working a lot lately. Now work is good, but all work and no play … well there’s a saying there somewhere. And usually after working this much, I feel the need to reward myself. Now I recently upgraded my camera, but that only cost me about $60 since I sold my old one.

I was thinking about getting an ipod touch. First, let me explain that I can’t upgrade my phone to a smartphone/iphone/blackberry since I can’t afford a data plan right now. Now I’d probably use the touch more for web/apps than music. Lately I’ve been keeping my computer on just for RSS, Email, Facebook, and Twitter. It would be much easier just to have that in my pocket. So I’m asking anyone out there on their thoughts. Maybe you don’t have an iPod touch, but you use something else for wifi action. I would love to hear what you have to say. Now I won’t have 3G service, so it’s not really an “always on” type of deal, but for all intensive purposes everywhere that I’d want to check email I’ll have wifi. Friends, family, school, all have wifi. So when I’m in the car I can’t get online. But should I really be twittering while driving? I know some of you are guilty of that, lol.

Also, if I do pick one up, I’m starting to run into a gadget overload. Most of you female readers wouldn’t understand this, or at least you shouldn’t have to, because you already have a solution. Imagine now, at any given time I might want to have my cell phone, wallet, car keys, camera, ipod touch, and a DS/PSP. I just don’t have that many pockets, nor would I want to have to worry about accidentally sitting on any of them. Short of man-bags or fanny packs coming back into style I think I’m doomed. Perhaps if I currently lived in a bigger city a messenger bag wouldn’t look so out of place? Either way, I guess I’ll just have to leave the camera/DS behind unless I plan ahead.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments»

1. Katie - May 25, 2009

Normally, I’d push for the Blackberry which I’ve recently met and fell in love with. My data plan is 54/month, which isn’t bad considering.

I don’t have an iPod touch, but I have heard nothing but great things. That and the iPhone seem to be really great buys these days. A friend of mine who is a technological idiot yet the first person to knock technology for whatever flaw it might have loves his iPod touch.

I was also thinking about your ‘item carrying’ issue. I’m a supporter of you carrying a Man Bag/Fanny Pack. I even did some searching for you. You can thank me later.

http://rushfaster.com.au/product.php?pProductID=MAN-MD16TI9874

http://www.getabag.com/content-product_info/product_id-942/nylon_one_pocket_fanny_pack.html

Patrick - May 26, 2009

You sent me a link to a pink bag that costs more than the iPod touch itself. (haha, read those last 3 words again)

That plan isn’t too bad, I have credit issues though, so the usual phone plans don’t work for me unless I pony up a deposit of several hundred dollars.

I was thinking of a bag like this: http://www.macys.com/catalog/product/index.ognc?ID=271656&PartnerID=FROOGLE&BannerID=PD569

But again, I’m no style expert.

Katie - May 30, 2009

I always find my iPod touching itself 😉

I did send you a link to a pink bag. I think it spoke to me. It said “Make Patrick Patrickerson buy me”

So, I tried.

2. whattakes - May 25, 2009

Okay! This is my kind of post! I have tech-aloic issues. I got them from my dad, damn family genes. I can cover all your problems! Or at least since they are mine, I’ll cover them for me!

I have the iPod touch, and I love it! It gets 4/5 stars. Why not 5? Because it’s no “always on” as you say. I use it when I am at home for twitter and google reader and facebook, since I never bring my laptop home. But if you go out, you can’t use it, and living in my small town, wifi is no where to be found. The apps are great (that don’t use it), I can play movies, watch shows, play games or listen to music while on the ttc. I use the yellowpages when I have wifi (at home lol) and my e-mail goes to it when I get wifi. Over all, if you don’t care about the lack of phone, its a nice piece of equipment to have. (I’ll be selling my iPod Touch in July)

I have the issue of lack of pockets too. I don’t always like carrying a purse with me. Thats why I want the iPhone. It covers phone, net, music, camera, games. Then I just add my wallet/keys and done! (For work I have a messenger bag since I need more). But I normally carry a camera with me too, it sits beside when in the car, and back pocket while walking.

As for “But should I really be twittering while driving? I know some of you are guilty of that, lol.” comment… I wasn’t “driving” I was stopped. Mostly…

Patrick - May 26, 2009

I think I might prefer having my phone be a separate device. Then I could still play with the iPod while talking, or I wouldn’t have to be concerned about killing my phone’s batteries. My phone can play music, but I don’t have stereo headphones, so it never sounds very good.

As for the pocket issues, I guess I’ll just have to make due. The camera on an iPhone wouldn’t be enough for me either. I mean sure once in awhile it’s cool to take a snapshot for txts/tweets but I love always having a real camera with me just incase I need to get a picture of something awesome.

Mostly stopped huh? Well I suppose that’s mostly safe then =P

whattakes - May 26, 2009

Just go by the Roots Rider bag, even in a small city it is so stylist that you can use it! Plus if Indie has you, you can too!

3. MJ - May 25, 2009

I think man-bags are totally sexy! 😉

Seriously though, I have been considering an itouch myself…especially since I bought my new iMac yesterday! The computer and phone would play so nicely together with the auto-synching and all. I will be interested to hear what your readers are saying about this device.

Patrick - May 26, 2009

See, I knew it, people in big cities are just more man-bag-friendly.

My best friend picked up an iPod Touch late last year, and I knew when I was playing with his that it would only be a matter of time before I needed one as well. And I’m starting to think that time might be now.

If I do pick one up, I’ll be sure to post a whole iPod Touch review for you. I know there’s 1,000 online already, but maybe not so many from a blogging/social networking angle.

4. Delilah - May 26, 2009

Your phone has a camera no? Camera-phone. I just got rid of one of your items for you. You’re welcome =)
Also, might I suggest getting rid of the wallet and opting for a money clip instead? It’s not as big therefore it will be easier to carry in your pocket. DS/PSP is a necessity. Games on the go! Actually, with the iTouch, you can download games so I guess you can leave the DS/PSP at home if you purchase that (that games wont be as cool on the Touch though… just so you know).

Personally, I’d just wait until you can afford to get the entire package. Saving money never hurt anyone. And by that time, you needn’t worry about having to find a buyer for the iTouch… because you can’t sell if for the price that you bought it for anyway.
And aren’t you a student? Toss all that stuff in your back pack and you’re good to go!

5. amindinmotown - May 26, 2009

If you’re buying the iTouch for its WiFi capabilities ABOVE it’s storage capacity, then fine. But, in my opinion, it’s ridiculous to spend that much just for the “touch” function if you’re primarily using it for music. You get more bang for your buck with the iPod classic, in that respect.

However, if you want it for the WiFi, then it makes sense, although eventually, if you’re uploading music/movies/data files, you’ll run out of storage space regardless.

But you’re also talking to someone who has the iPod classic, a touch screen phone with internet capabilities (LG Dare through Verizon) and just bought a new camera… I like my gadgets.

6. bandsxbands - March 3, 2010

Digital Memory sure is becoming cheaper and cheaper and cheaper. I wonder when we will eventually hit the ratio of $0.01 to 1 GB.I’m eagerly anticipating the day when I will finally be able to afford a 20 terabyte harddrive, lol. But for now I will be happy with having a 16 gig Micro SD in my R4i.(Submitted by Nintendo DS running R4i SDHC BPost)


Leave a Reply

