jump to navigation

College = The Climb? May 14, 2009

Posted by Patrick in Life, School.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

So most of the people in the Blogosphere are people that only know me for what I post in my blog, so let me catch you up on how college is going for me. To give you the short version, I went to the University of Scranton for 2 years and put myself in ~$12k worth of debt. Then since I couldn’t pay them, they wouldn’t let me take more classes. So a few years down the road in 06 I saved up some money to go back to school, but had to start over. I had to start over though, at Broome Community College. I learned that in NY state community colleges are a lot more serious and most of them even have engineering programs. So now I have about 2 years left, and will finish them up either at Binghamton University or University of Buffalo. Both schools in the SUNY system. Buffalo is a lot farther away, but distance shouldn’t be that important.

Anyways, that whole chunk of information was just to get you up to speed. College for me has been this long journey and taking much more time that it should someone who didn’t have to work so hard to pay for everything. Its been a nonstop battle with loans and financial aid departments. Most students have trouble with tests, projects, picking a major, but for me it’s all about a struggle to pay for things. I look forward to the classes, even the annoying ones because I know what its like to not be able to take them.

The point of this post, (yes there is one) is that I can’t help but relate to Miley Cyrus’s ‘The Climb’. It doesn’t feel natural to be so connected to a song sung by a 16 year old. She didn’t write the song though, and it’s really just the lyrics that mean a lot to me. So am I crazy? Have you ever felt connected to a song that you weren’t super proud of. Let me hear your thoughts!

I can almost see it.
That dream I’m dreamin
But there’s a voice inside my head saying
“you’ll never reach it”.

The video is actually pretty bad, horrible CG mixed with an awkward laser light show. Either way I’m posting the video do you can give the lyrics a listen. For those of you who might rather read the lyrics, here they are.

Comments»

1. amindinmotown - May 14, 2009

You relate to a Miley Cyrus song…? Hm. Strange. Never would’ve seen that coming. How in the world did you end up realizing that anyway?

…Though it’s happened to all of us. I have a pretty strong disdain for country music, yet I know there’s been a country song or two that I’ve related to (but couldn’t tell you which ones…drawing a complete blank!).

Lyrics are lyrics, nothing but words that could possibly be something important. Sometimes they are masked by horrible melodies or poor artists, but at their core, their still phrases and sentences that could mean a whole lot.

2. whattakes - May 14, 2009

I really like this song for the words not the person. I think that a lot of people are relating to this song. The one that I really relate to is “what I cannot change” that Leann Rimes sings.

I lucked out with college and it didn’t cost me anything. M dad had saved since I was born and paid for eveything so I didn’t need to worry. I thank him everyday and he knows have greatful I am.

Patrick - May 15, 2009

Canadians listen to country music too? Who would have thought! =P Yeah, that’s a pretty powerful song.

The good thing is that you appreciate what your dad was able to do for you. I see way to many kids/students who get anything they want, yet never care to think about how much someone might have gone through to give it to them.

3. Katie - May 15, 2009

Something else that applies to you is “It doesn’t matter how fast I get there…” from that song.

I’m a closet Miley fan. I can rock out to “See You Again” like no one’s business in the car. the Climb is a brilliant song, and I can relate a lot to it.

I can relate to “Hold On” by Wilson Phillips. Its an older 80’s song, but the lyrics are really great especially for those like me who have had their share bad days.

I could go on and on about songs that I can relate to the lyrics.

On. And On. And On.

Kinda like you and tight pants. πŸ™‚

Patrick - May 15, 2009

Hey now, I bet you loved my insight into the tight pants dilemma. Now you’re just trolling to get me to talk about it again. Nice try Katie, but I’m on to you and your Shenanigans!

4. Delilah - May 16, 2009

Is it weird that I’m not surprised by the Miley Cyrus thing? I don’t know about you but I think Disney Channel is up to something… I’ve been brainwashed. Just the other day, I almost the Jonas Brothers CD. No joke.

But aside from that, I gotta say that universities aren’t all the great. Granted I did find my identity during my time at the UW but I was still very unhappy.
I’m glad that you’ve found a path at least. That’s probably the hardest part. Now you just have to follow it =) Good luck and best wishes!

Also, is Patty Cake and ok nickname? Have you heard that one before? Because I really like it. You can give me horrible nicknames too… I’ll understand. Also, if the Patty Cake thing is too embarrassing then I’ll also understand if you delete my comment. Hah!

5. MJ - May 18, 2009

I’m sorry but I can’t bring myself to push play on that video. πŸ™‚

Anyway, I commend you for putting yourself through school. I feel like you get more out of it when you have to work for it. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Not everyone takes the cookie-cutter path through life, and I often find that those who don’t are stronger, better people for it.


Leave a Reply

