jump to navigation

13 shot dead, within eyesight of my old bus stop April 3, 2009

Posted by Patrick in Life, School.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

front_page On most days I feel like a crappy blogger, since I never seem to have much to talk about. I tend to browse online for prompts to give me some ideas. Sadly, today all I needed to do was turn on the TV. I follow the news quite often, more then most I bet. I moved out of my old APT last June, but odds are I’ll still be moving back to the Binghamton area this fall. Hearing the news, the first thing I worried about was if it was at any of the schools in the area. First reports just mentioned it being at a civic center. At first I wasn’t sure where it was, because I didn’t know the place by name. Once they put up a picture though, I knew exactly where it was. I saw it nearly every day.

aptThat’s less than a half mile away. It took me about 45 minutes to get there when I needed to catch the bus. The actual bus stop was at the end of North St, but trust me it was close enough. FoxNews only had a few pictures they were cycling through during the early reports. One of the pictures was of the sign that told me where to catch the #7 bus. Because the business of the building, immigration, I didn’t know anyone involved. Front St, the location of the shooting, is the same street that my school is on. Granted, they’re a few miles apart, but the exact same street.

I only hope that society gets out of this mindset of hurting others when you can’t live your life anymore. And I look forward to waking up tomorrow and not having anything important to post about. Maybe something small and nearly pointless like blogs should be.

Comments»

1. amindinmotown - April 3, 2009

When I heard this news, you were the first person I thought of, and I was hoping you’d remark about it. It’s so unfortunate this had to happen because one man was unhappy. Such a damn shame.

I am quite glad – well, as glad as one can be following this kind of situation – to hear you didn’t know anyone involved though.


Leave a Reply

