jump to navigation

New Album from Simeon (20sw) March 30, 2009

Posted by Patrick in 20sw.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

New from Simeon, This Poor Little One-Horse Town

March 29, 2009 EML Records is proud to announce the newest CD from rising folk star Simeon. While touring colleges all last year, Simeon was writing new songs for his fans to enjoy. After a few months in the studio, This Poor Little One-Horse Town was born.
We sat down and asked Simeon what inspired him to write these songs:

“Well, I was traveling the country and fans would come up to me and share their stories. They would tell me how my music moves them and helped them get through some truly difficult situations. And it was those stories that I took to heart, spent my nights in bed imagining what it might be like. So as I searched my soul, the lyrics started to flow. And before you know it, something you scribbled on a napkin is now in the liner notes of a CD that’s being sold all around the nation.”

We also wanted to know, out of the 12 new songs on One-Horse Town what song meant the most to him and why:

“Geeze, pick one song? Well track 4 “Alone in your arms” is really a powerful song. It’s about a girl whose just fell out of love with her life and her boyfriend. She’s so unhappy on the inside, yet nobody seems to notice or care. And because she doesn’t share these feelings with anyone, she’s doomed to feel alone. Of course I didn’t write it to depress people, but they need to learn to express their feelings in order to enjoy their lives.”

Albums are hitting shelves today, and you can pick up your own copy of “This Poor Little One-Horse Town” at your local music store. As well as digitaly on itunes. Also keep an eye on Simeon’s myspace for tour dates.

Prompt Provided by: Twenty-Something Writers
Artist Name from Wikipedia
Album Name from Wikiquotes
Album Art from: porcelain heart

Comments»

1. Katie - March 30, 2009

I’m really impressed with your response on this. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the “Alone in Your Arms’ description. I say you write the song. Then, you can have a band like Coldplay sing it. You can even pay me an “Idea Havers Fee” for, you know, having the idea.

Thanks for participating. We love participation. 😀

mackiep1 - March 31, 2009

An ‘Idea Havers Fee’ huh? lol that sounds fair =P

2. phampants - March 30, 2009

Wow, you did a great job. I really enjoy how each people took this prompt and make it their own. There were so many styles to which each person could adapt to their own and make it wonderful.

Great job!

mackiep1 - March 31, 2009

Glad you enjoyed it pants! The prompt was a lot of fun, and using websites to come up with the Name/Album/Art made it easier to focus on the content of the post rather than worrying too much on the details.

3. floreta - March 31, 2009

I liked how you wrote this. It was kind of what I was going for myself. I don’t think I see the picture of the album cover though, unless i’m missing something.

mackiep1 - March 31, 2009

Yeah we both did sort of a press release / interview style. I felt like it gave me more ways to talk about the band.

I left the picture for the album cover unedited. (So it’s just the picture of the girl) It was late at night and I didn’t feel like firing up Photoshop. lol


Leave a Reply

